Forum

3

I launched TPYL on January 2nd, 2023 as a space to share personal stories, somewhere that respects the individual voice & experience, and builds a diverse community around the premise that the only truth we can control is the truth we tell.

I’ve had positive feedback from everyone active on the Substack posts, as well as others who follow along with the prompts as a newsletter. I realize once someone posts in the COMMENTS, however, their story is harder to access from week-to-week, and this project is not only about me… at all.

That Place You Love contributor stories have staying power.

I’m launching a formal digital Zine component: A non–commercial publication, like a magazine but with a twist. The main difference is that zines are not out there to make a profit but, rather, to add other, often unheard voices into the mix.

Substack, as I’m envisioning it, is the sketchpad, think-tank, launchpad for your ideas followed by an Anthology of select stories for each theme at the end of the year.

Anthology Period 01: January - April

Anthology Period 02: May - August

Anthology Period 03: September - December

If you post a 150 - 200 word story in the Comments on Substack, that story could be expanded to >500 words for the Zine, including original artwork or graphics and a contributor bio, or published as-is. You could even consider writing episodic while following the themes/prompts.

The only prerequisite to publish is to post and participate on Substack. This gives each contributor a chance to work out a number of stories, and it strengthens the community by being active regularly.

Yes, you can post under a pseudonym as long as I know you are a real person to fulfill the pledge of REAL PEOPLE REAL STORIES.

ABOUT That Place You Love

The first post I WAS AN EASY LIAR introduces the project.

That Place You Love
I was an easy liar
That Place You Love: where you can gimme some truth. As a child my lies had little consequence, but they were untruths by definition. I had no good reason to tell a kid that a can of aerosol starch was Barbie hairspray or my mother that I was practicing the clarinet when I fell through a lake in my Moon Boots. My lies didn’t serve anyone. I was called o…
Read more

I’d love to hear any thoughts you have about it below or DM me.

Leave a comment